38
Fee Information
Application Fee
Each new applicant is charged a $30 application fee which covers the costs of handling the application. This is a one-time
fee and covers all subsequent enrollments. This fee applies to credit and audit students, whether full-time or part-time, day
or evening. The application fee is not refundable or transferable.
No registration will be completed until all fees and prior financial obligations to the college have been paid in full. Students
may not attend classes until this is accomplished. Personal checks, Visa, Master Card and American Express may be
acceptable for payment.
Additionally, FKCC offers a
Tuition Payment Plan
for all students. For more details please visit our website at
and log into your student account, or contact the Business Office at (305) 809-3186.
Resident Information and Requirements
All applicants for admission to Florida Keys Community College are required to complete a residency affidavit which
is included as part of the application. If the applicant is a dependent, the affidavit must be signed by a parent or legal
guardian. State regulations require that a tuition fee be paid in addition to the matriculation fee by all non-residents of the
state of Florida.
The Florida law regarding residency for tuition purposes, allows U.S. citizens and lawful permanent residents to be classified
as a Florida resident for tuition purposes if the applicant or the dependent applicant’s parent/legal guardian has been a
legal resident of the State for at least 12 months preceding the first day of classes for that term.
To qualify as a resident for tuition purposes an applicant, or the dependent applicant’s parent/legal guardian, must have
established and maintained legal residence in Florida for at least 12 months prior to the first day of classes for that term.
A copy of the student’s most recent tax return or other documentation may be requested to establish dependence/
independence.
In addition, every such applicant is required to make a statement as to his/her length of residence in the state and further
establish that his/her presence or dependent’s parents/legal guardian’s presence in the state currently is, and during
the requisite 12 month qualifying period was, for the purposes of maintaining a bona fide domicile, rather than a mere
temporary residence or abode incidental to enrollment in Florida Keys Community College.
Residency is determined in accordance with Florida Statutes, Section 1009.21, which is subject to change each legislative
session. Further explanation about residency guidelines can be obtained from
.
Specific statue language can
be obtained from
.
Students must present two forms of approved documentation in order to prove Florida residency for tuition purposes, at
the time of admission.
Exceptions
Florida Statutes, Section 1009.21 permits certain applicants who do not meet the 12-month legal residence requirements to
be classified as Florida residents or “temporary residents” for tuition purposes. Documentation in support of the following
exceptions is required at the time of admission. These exceptions and qualifications categories are as follows:
Dependent children residing continuously with a legal resident adult relative other than the parent for at least 5
years immediately prior to the first day of classes for that term;
1...,28,29,30,31,32,33,34,35,36,37 39,40,41,42,43,44,45,46,47,48,...159