At Florida Keys Community College, going to college is about more than just going to classes. That’s why we encourage student and faculty participation in extracurricular activities and organizations.

The following clubs are currently registered and chartered at FKCC and are open for membership by any FKCC student who has enrolled in at least two courses during the academic year.


Aquaculture Club: Our club is part of the Marine Aquarium Societies of North America as well as a World Aquaculture Society – United States Aquaculture Society Chapter Student Sub-Unit. Our purpose is to further outreach, bringing the benefits, activities, and news of these Societies to our students; to provide increased opportunity for student involvement in the Societies’ activities; and to provide increased opportunity for students to organize and participate in activities that relate to aquaculture on a local scale.

Club Advisor: Travis Knorr travis.knorr@fkcc.edu


Bone Island Athletic Club: This club serves as a support club to aid fundraising, recruiting volunteers for events, coordinating activities for swim programs, and any other activities held at the FKCC Pool.

Club Advisor: Lori Bosco (305)809-3562 lori.bosco@fkcc.edu


Book Club: The Book Clubs purpose is to expand members’ personal literary experiences, to provide an open forum for exchange of ideas and opinions, and to strengthen and inspire the Florida Keys Community College.

Club Advisor: Kristina Neihouse (305)809-3206 Kristina.neihouse@fkcc.edu.


Environmental Club: The environmental Club’s Purpose is to create student awareness of environmental issues in the community and on campus. Maintaining our natural environment is extremely important for us and our unique surroundings in the Florida Keys . For some individuals, the purpose of the club may be to develop an appreciation for the environment through outdoor activities and education.

Click to view/join the Environmental Club Facebook page

Club Advisor: Dr. Bill Irwin william.irwin@fkcc.edu


Fellowship of Christian Students on Campus (FCSC) : The Florida Keys Community College Chapter of FCSC is a part of the movement of around 28,000 college students with the mission to reconcile students to Christ: transforming the university, the marketplace, and the world

Club Advisor: Charles Goulding charles.goulding@fkcc.edu


FKCC’s Special Olympics College Club: FKCC’s Special Olympics College club’s goal is to support Special Olympics athletes, to be cheerleaders, friends and spread knowledge on interacting with individuals with disabilities. Our vision is to have a unique group of students working together as a team; to support each other, become mentors and to build lifelong friendships.

Click here to view/join the FKCC’s Special Olympics College Club Facebook group

Club Advisor: Susan Chiappone (305) 809-3201 susan.chiappone@fkcc.edu


FNSA (Florida Nursing Students Association): The FNSA is dedicated to promoting community service as well as offering support to FKCC nursing students.

Club Advisor: Rosanna Mullen rosanna.mullen@fkcc.edu


Future Business Leaders of America-Phi Beta Lambda (PBL): Want to build a portfolio of documented accomplishments before you enter the job market? PBL (the collegiate division of FBLA) activities can complement your academic experience and give you an edge in your future career. PBL is the ideal way to sharpen your business skills and apply your classroom knowledge to real-world scenarios.

Club Advisor:


International Student Organization: The International Students Club allows people from around the world to meet, make friends and offer each other support while on campus. US students who join can learn more about a variety of places instead of only the ones they are studying.

Club Advisors: Latara Williams (305) 809-3164 latara.williams@fkcc.edu and Carrie Groomes (305) 809-3196 carrie.groomes@fkcc.edu


Mud Pi’s Ceramics Club: This organization is working to enhance the ceramic awareness of our island community.

Club Advisor: Ann Labriola ann.labriola@fkcc.edu


Phi Theta Kappa Honor Society: Be a part of the International Honor Society of the two-year college. Phi Theta Kappa Honor Society is open to students who have completed at least 12 hours of coursework and have a GPA of 3.25 or higher. Phi Theta Kappa members are privy to exclusive scholarship opportunities applied both at the current community college as well as the transfer institution. The Society also provides opportunities for personal and professional development and leadership. Membership fee $82.00.

Click here to view/join the FKCC Phi Theta Kappa Honor Society Facebook group

Club Advisors: Dr. Michelle “Mick” Walsh (305) 809-3205 michelle.walsh@fkcc.edu and Steve Kocis (305) 809-3209 steven.kocis@fkcc.edu


Psi Beta National Honor Society in Psychology: Psi Beta National Honor Society in Psychology’s mission is to serve as a means of national recognition of the student’s early interest in and dedication to the field of psychology and to scholastic achievement.

Club Advisor: Dr. Katheryn Eads (305) 809-3169 katheryn.eads@fkcc.edu


Residence Hall Association: Resident Hall Association (RHA) enhances residential life in Lagoon Landing by organizing educational and social programs, establishing leadership opportunities, and by providing a voice to residents with concerns about campus housing policy, procedure and facilities. Members must be residents of the Lagoon Landing Residence Hall.

Click here to view/join the Residence Hall Association Facebook page

Club Advisor: Debbie Leonard (305)809-3203 debbie.leonard@fkcc.edu


Scuba Club: Do you enjoy scuba diving? Then this club is for you! Take part in exciting club activities and field trips. Member benefits include air fills, use of equipment on club dives, reduced price dives with the club and some access to discounted equipment.

Click to view/join the Scuba Club Facebook page

Club Advisor: Curtiss Carter curtiss.carter@fkcc.edu


Sigma Alpha Pi (SAP) National Society of Leadership and Success: Sigma Alpha Pi is the honor society of the National Society for Leadership and Success. The Society is a renowned nationwide training organization dedicated to creating long-term positive changes in student’s lives. Students must have a GPA of 2.5 or higher. Membership fee $85.00.

Click to view/join the Sigma Alpha Pi Facebook page

Club Advisors: Carrie Groomes (305) 809-3196 carrie.groomes@fkcc.edu and Latara Williams (305) 809-3164 latara.williams@fkcc.edu


Special Olympics Unified Flag Football Team: FKCC’s Special Olympics Unified Flag Football Team’s mission is to provide unified team training and athletic competitions for individuals with and without intellectual disabilities, giving everyone the opportunity to develop physical fitness, demonstrate courage, experience joy, develop skills, make new friendships and to be part of a team. “Let me win. But if I cannot win, let me be brave in the attempt.”

Click here to view/join the FKCC’s Special Olympics Unified Flag Football Team Facebook group

Club Advisor: Matthew Wells matthew.wells@fkcc.edu


Student Government Association: The Florida Keys Community College Student Government Association provides guidance and direction to the student body, develops student programs and activities, promotes student involvement, develops positive working relationships and provides students with opportunities to develop and exercise leadership skills.

Click to view/join the SGA Facebook page

Club Advisor: Naomi Walsh (305)809-3198 naomi.walsh@fkcc.edu


This is Me (LGBTQIA) Organization: Our mission is to offer an opportunity for students to network in a safe space for LGBTQIA students and their allies to explore issues, discuss topics and events.

Club Advisor: John Rouge (305) 809-3181 john.rouge@fkcc.edu


Student Life Handbook 2016-2017